Four regions – one world

The Appenzellerland consists of two half-cantons: Appenzell Ausserrhoden and Appenzell Innerrhoden. Geographically, the area is divided into four regions: Vorderland (Foreland), Mittelland (Midland), Hinterland and the Innere Land (Interior), which is part of Appenzell Innerrhoden. In 1597 Appenzell was split in two, due to two different religions. Even today, the Catholic Innerrhoden and the Protestant Ausserrhoden maintain subtle cultural differences. Important to both, however, is their love of their common traditions, which are still lived today just as vividly and authentically as in times past. Visitors are both impressed and touched to witness these colourful customs.